11/10/16 Ballet blog

Today was a difficult session. The barre work started off well, but I always find doing pliés in 4th position is very difficult for me, this is something I need to work on. I think it’s hard for me because my hips move a lot and I can’t quite get them straight, I also have a tight Achilles in this position I also need to move my balance into the middle more because I lean too much on my back leg and so my pliés aren’t correct.  I also need to remember to pull up more doing any plié, this is because I sometimes relax my posture in ballet and so it effects my performance when I’m trying to do or lean a new technique. I tried Echappé sauté for the first time and I found that it was hard at first but I have gotten the hang of it.

One thought on “11/10/16 Ballet blog”

  1. Sophia – this has small elements of reflection in it but you miss opportunities that you set up and don’t follow through “Today was a difficult session. The barre work started off well, but I always find doing pliés in 4th position is very difficult for me, this is something I need to work on.” Do you understand why pliés in 4th is difficult for you – you don’t explain it if you do know! You also say you need to work on pliés in 4th but, because you haven’t identified a time and place to work on them, you are very unlikely to do this so the reality is you won’t work on them because you haven’t made an agreement with yourself to do this.
    “I also need to remember to pull up more doing any plié.” Why do you think you need to do this? What will be the benefit or outcome of pulling up more?
    You also did the tendu exercise in centre which you videoed and this was an IDEAL opportunity to really analyse your technique and reflect on what you are doing well and what needs to be worked on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

