Personal Statement-FIRST DRAFT

Musicals and performing is what I love, it is why I chose college over sixth form. It is not because sixth form was inferior or because I didn’t achieve good grades, but because I would never have grown so much as a person and a performer and improved so much in a short space of time.

I joined the Drama Club at Middle School and I have always been selected to appear in school productions throughout my time there. They were a mixture of modern made up stories/musicals, and I knew this was what I wanted to do for the rest of my life….everyone has to start somewhere and that’s where I began. I continued my love of Theatre at High School and again participated in all the Productions in various acting and singing roles. I have gained knowledge and have ensured I have become well informed with regard to plays and musicals, especially musicals, as this is my major passion and I have seen the many classical shows, both in London and locally. Although my experience with acting and singing has been based primarily around School and College productions, I have tried many different genres of dance including Irish, Ballroom, Ballet and I also performed at the Playhouse Theatre in the West End for a dance show called “West End Week”, which encompassed Contemporary dance in a Musical Style.

I want to go down this path because the detail in the lessons and curriculum you teach is just so varied and I love the fact that I will always be doing, learning and performing something new. It’s not surprising you have so many successful people, because you help them become the best performers they can be, by stretching them and exposing them to new ideas and experiences.

I am currently studying Musical Theatre as a level 3 BTec Diploma, I’ve learned so much already and I don’t want to stop. I enjoy it so much and I want to do it for the rest of my life.

I also have singing lessons each week. I believe I have a good voice but do recognise I need to develop its strength. In addition I have recently joined Voice Squad to further develop it and to provide performance experience. I am also joining a local Dramatic Society to gain additional stage experience and believe all these will lead to a greater level of performance.

“Success is like failure, it’s how you perceive it, it’s what you do with it, not how you achieve it.” A quote from Sondheim’s “Merrily We Roll Along”, one of my favourite musical soundtracks and Sondheim of course is the master of rhyming simple words…

One thought on “Personal Statement-FIRST DRAFT”

  1. Sophia, be careful with your grammar – an example where it doesn’t read well is in this sentence “I have gained knowledge and have ensured I have become well informed with regard to plays and musicals, especially musicals, as this is my major passion and I have seen THE many classical shows, both in London and locally.” I have capitalised the dodgy bit as I cannot highlight it.
    You also should explain what ‘Voice Squad’ is because you cannot expect this to be commonly known about.
    I recommend that you print your Personal Statement out and cut it up and move the sections around so that they flow more suitably. The quote hasn’t been given any relevance or context because it is placed right at the end. You begin with a section showing your past and then you have a section where you talk about the new course you want to get onto (future) and why but then you jump back and talk about the course you are currently on (present) which feels quite disconnected.

    Like

Leave a Reply

