01/05/17-05/05/17 Week 29

Monday 1st

We had a bank holiday Monday today and so I spent most of the day going through my solo and my duet. It was all good and I know what I need to do when I get to college which is to just run it through and practise as much as I can with Jess. This is because she knows the song really well and can just help me with any pitching or tuning problems I may encounter. I’m also going to find a version of my solo Nothings Gonna Harm You in the key I need it in which is E flat and to have a discussion with the tech students to tell them when it will need to be turned down as I will not be singing the entire song. This is because the lyrics become irrelevant further on and so it doesn’t fit the context. I’m singing it because I’m reassuring my girlfriend (Faye) that I am there to protect her from her abusive ex and I will make her happy and smile instead. The lyrics state:

Nothing’s gonna harm you
Not while I’m around
Nothing’s gonna harm you
No sir, not while I’m around
Demons are prowling everywhere nowadays
I’ll send them howling, I don’t care, I’ve got ways
No one’s gonna hurt you
No one’s gonna dare
Others can desert you
Not to worry, whistle I’ll be there
Demons’ll charm you with a smile for a while
But in time
Nothing ‘s gonna harm you, not while I’m around 

I decided to cut the song off here because the next set of lyrics I felt just didn’t work as well. These are the starting lines:

Not to worry, not to worry
I may not be smart, but I ain’t dumb.
I can do it. Put me to it. Show me somethin – I can overcome.
Not to worry, ma’am.
It starts to talk about being smart and dumb and the line “I can do it, put me to it” makes me sound like I’m asking her to give me a job, but that’s not the message I want to show and there isn’t anything she wants me to do. This is why I cut the song off where I did. Also because the song is written for a cockney accent I had to change the wording slightly as my character wasn’t posh but was well spoken and so I wouldn’t say words like “gonna” or “Demons’ll”, I would say “going to” and “Demons will”. These still fit with the music as well which was good for me.

For my duet with Jess we are singing Apples by Phillipa Hanna, we both know it and have rehearsed it a few times, it fits well we just need a reason in the script for why we sing it because our characters aren’t connected so that needs to be discussed and I’m sure me, Jack, Emma and Beth can think of some reasons. We could have possibly met at some point in the show already or maybe we know each other and then we would have to show why or how we know each other, or maybe she just wanted to be nice and help. I also went through the choreography of Bring On The Men, we haven’t finished it but there isn’t much more left to create so that will be okay. However we still haven’t sung through it yet which I think we need to do just to make sure there are harmonies and everyone is in tune. It’s important we do this soon though because we are a big group and it will be one of the acts in the cabaret club and is the end to Act 1 so it needs to be good. I’m a bit worried at how unorganised it is and since Emma is meant to be director I feel maybe it should be more of a group thing instead just in case we don’t have enough time.

Tuesday 2nd

We didn’t have singing today. Instead we had a showing of our pieces. This is because Lynn and Helena hadn’t actually seen what we had been up to and I think it gave them some reassurance when they saw what we have been up to. It was also a great opportunity to read through the script as it had been finished and not all of us had read it.  I have written another page entirely on this presentation which will be on U12  Saints and Sinners.

Ballet

In ballet we didn’t do any barre work today because Helena wanted to carry on with the routine. We changed a part in the middle of the dance, because we had to stay in one position for a long time and so Helena added a small sequence before that to use up some of the spare time. It also helped us to not move downstage as much and this made it easier for Scott and Jess because then they didn’t have to travel as far downstage to reach us. One thing I need to work on is just being graceful in general and taking my time as I rush the steps slightly and then I’ll lose balance other wise I’m waiting for the other girls so I can catch up again.

 

Friday 5th

We had a scheduled singing lesson with Bethany today just for Poisoned Apples. It was hard because there is no sheet music anywhere online and so Bethany just had to sit and listen to Tom whilst he played. After becoming familiar with it, she helped us with creating some harmonies. I stayed on the tune and Jess went higher up the scale it sounded great, but I’m having trouble pitching my harmony and blocking out Jess, because I can’t focus on it and therefore can’t sing it. It will just take some time and they aren’t difficult harmonies, but I think singing louder will help me as well, because then I can hear what I am also singing. Unfortunately Tom still couldn’t figure out my solo bit and so we had to scrap it, I really liked it because it complimented my voice and I could show it off a bit but as Lynn says we must kill our darlings sometimes. My new solo is now the second verse, I need to get used to the tempo because in some parts I can take my time, where as in some lines I need to speed up, but it does have a really odd pace. With more practise I will definitely be able to do this, but I need to focus more on learning the harmonies as they are much harder to pitch and sing for me. I’m a bit annoyed that I can’t sing the part I wanted to, but it was a joint decision and I was out voted, so I’ll have to just focus on my new part now. With some practise I will be fine, but before I was meant to sing this we were going to scrap this verse which is why I didn’t make much effort to know it well. That has all changed now and I know the tune I just need to become more familiar with the lyrics.

One thought on “01/05/17-05/05/17 Week 29”

  1. Monday 1st entry – some comment on what needs to be done, evidence of planning, mention of context of song Nothings Gonna Harm You but no explanation as to what the context is or why this might make the later lyrics irrelevant. Can’t find evidence as to why this song is being used in this show and the purpose it serves. Acknowledgement that Poisoned Apples duet needs to be made relevant for the two characters to come together at this point. Bring on the Men is discussed in the same way with no insight into this being a cabaret act at the club.
    Friday 5th entry some slight evaluation and reflection on Poisoned Apple duet harmonies.

    Like

Leave a Reply

