All’s Well That Ends Well- Helena Act 1 Scene 1

O! were that all. I think not on my father;
And these great tears grace his remembrance more
Than those I shed for him. What was he like?
I have forgot him: my imagination
Carries no favour in ‘t but Bertram’s.
I am undone: there is no living, none,
If Bertram be away. It were all one
That I should love a bright particular star
And think to wed it, he is so above me:
In his bright radiance and collateral light
Must I be comforted, not in his sphere.
The ambition in my love thus plagues itself:
The hind that would be mated by the lion
Must die for love. ‘Twas pretty, though a plague,
To see him every hour; to sit and draw
His arched brows, his hawking eye, his curls,
In our heart’s table; heart too capable
Of every line and trick of his sweet favour:
But now he’s gone, and my idolatrous fancy
Must sanctify his reliques. Who comes here?

One thought on “All’s Well That Ends Well- Helena Act 1 Scene 1”

  1. Sophia, this is good to have a copy of the monologue included. What would be even better would be to have your thoughts and intentions about how you will play this part and why. What feedback have you been given when you have run this monologue? How has this affected the refinements you have made? Are there any video records of you performing this monologue?

    Like

Leave a comment