Two Gentlemen of Verona- Julia Act 4 Scene 4

How many women would do such a message?
Alas, poor Proteus! thou hast entertain’d
A fox to be the shepherd of thy lambs.
Alas, poor fool! why do I pity him
That with his very heart despiseth me?
Because he loves her, he despiseth me;
Because I love him I must pity him.
This ring I gave him when he parted from me,
To bind him to remember my good will;
And now am I, unhappy messenger,
To plead for that which I would not obtain,
To carry that which I would have refused,
To praise his faith which I would have dispraised.
I am my master’s true-confirmed love;
But cannot be true servant to my master,
Unless I prove false traitor to myself.
Yet will I woo for him, but yet so coldly
As, heaven it knows, I would not have him speed.

One thought on “Two Gentlemen of Verona- Julia Act 4 Scene 4”

  1. Sophia, same point – this is good to have a copy of the monologue included. What would be even better would be to have your thoughts and intentions about how you will play this part and why. What feedback have you been given when you have run this monologue? How has this affected the refinements you have made? Are there any video records of you performing this monologue?

    Like

Leave a comment