Task 3: Not While I’m Around

March 2017

I’m so pleased that I was given this to sing as my solo. I know it’s in my range and I am very familiar with the film and the show as I have seen both. However because it is originally a tenor song and is meant to be for a boy it is too high for me to sing if I was to convert it to a soprano key. I took it to Bethany as I was seeing Birgitta later in the week and needed to start working on it sooner. Bethany suggested that I move the key up, so now I will be singing the song in and E flat.

Later this week I also sang this song with Birgitta. I was in tune for the entire song and she thought that this was a great song for me to sing. I’m becoming more confident about it and now I need to find a version of the song that it is in E flat and is instrumental. I will have to pay, but the most it will cost is roughly £2 maximum,

April/May 2017

I recently had a chat with Paul about finding a version. He first suggested that Birgitta or Bethany could play it on the piano and then I could record it, but that wouldn’t sound great as you would only have a piano and no other instruments. He then mentioned that he could create a trade, but that would take 3-4 hours and he doesn’t have that kind of time to waste. However he also mentioned buying a backing track and he helpfully sent me the link. The link unfortunately wasn’t an instrumental, but instead a cover. I have bought and downloaded it anyway to help me practise, I have also bought an instrumental version now as well, but it currently isn’t working. I am giving these to Jordan as he is in charge of music and he might be able to do something to help.

 

16th May

Me and Faye booked a session in E.o44 today to figure out some choreography for my solo. Here are the lyrics and a break down of what we will be doing.

  1. Nothing’s gonna harm you
  2. Not while I’m around
  3. Nothing’s gonna harm you, no sir
  4. Not while I’m around
  5. Demon’s are prowling everywhere, nowadays
  6. I’ll send them howling I don’t care
  7. I’ve got ways
  8. No one’s gonna hurt you
  9. No ones gonna dare
  10. Others can desert you
  11. Not to worry whistle I’ll be there
  12. Demons will charm you
  13. With a smile, for a while
  14. But in time
  15. Nothing’s gonna harm you
  16. Not while I’m around.

 

From line 1 to line 5 Faye is on the floor and I sing to her on the floor as well.

Then at line 6 which starts “I’ll send them howling…” I help her to get up and we stand together.

When I sing the lyrics on line 8 Faye will turn and walk away but stop downstage left, I then walk over to her and hold her by the shoulders.

From line 10 we embrace and I sing to her as she looks up at me and whilst I sing the line “With a smile…”  I stroke her cheek.

The final three lines which are 14-16 I take my hands down to hers and hold them and then hug again at the end.

Leave a Reply

